PA Chapter 339 Tool

Align ASCA standards to PA Standards

Downloadable Companion Guide: Tools for Developing a Counseling Plan pdf

Developed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education for use by all school districts in Pennsylvania. A committee of school counselors met and developed these tools as a companion guide for practical implementation of a comprehensive K-12 school counseling / guidance plan. This document provides school district counselors with a step-by-step process, a framework, resources and best practice models for developing their district plan. In Pennsylvania, school counselors are integral in the academic, career and personal/social development of all PreK-12 students.
2 Responses

  1. Hey Susan, Have you had any luck building that tribe? I just read your Nov 18, post on what it takes to create a movement. The subject of that post meshes with this one.

    I don’t believe there is any term more important for middle school kids and their parents to get their minds around than career maturity. Ken Gray is my hero.

    I started off believing that college freshmen, given the right direction, would still have time to stand out from their peers and land meaningful work upon graduation. The more research that I did, the more importance of an earlier intervention.

    I’m at the cradle now, but with more input I think I’ll be working my way back to the womb, and then back to what leads the child to be there in the first place.

    I’m glad I found your site. Much to learn!

  2. Thanks for reading, Dave! We CD people need a place to learn and share. Love your FB page–Standing out in a Sea of Sameness. The tribe is growing but I have a sense that we have always been out there, we just didn’t know how to find each other.

    Middle school is key for CD activities and that includes academic connections to things outside of school. MS kids make career decisions all the time-“I hate math, I’m not taking any more math than I have to.” That is a career decision that most adults don’t understand as a career decision. A student like this has just shut the door on many future possiblities that they don’t yet know about.

    Helping kids find their passion and helping connect them is what it’s all about. Once they have a passion everything else falls into place: academics, social and emotional life.

    As our friend Ken Gray said, “For this generation, career maturity is as important as academic maturity. Both predict post-high school success.”

    Welcome to the tribe!

Leave a Reply

