What Does It Take to Create a Movement?

I’ve recently read the book Tribes by Seth Godin. Mr. Godin says, “a movement happens when people talk to one another, when ideas spread within the community, and most of all, when peer support leads people to do what they always knew was the right thing.”

Why is Career Development the right thing?

“For this generation, career maturity is as important as academic maturity. Both predict post-high school success.” Ken Gray, Penn State University

What is career maturity? What is success? How do we introduce Career Development academic interventions into our curriculum? What works? What doesn’t? Why should we care?

I cannot find a blog or tweet addressing career development before the college experience. My hope is, that together, we can start a discussion about academics and career development focusing on students K-12. Can we start a movement? Maybe we will become a tribe…

Sharing: The Moral Imperative
[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/hOsmgoGtIQI%5D

3 Responses

  1. […] networking is something I’m learning about as I go. My first post on this blog addressed sharing resources. Today I found two new resources that I have to […]

  2. […] Just Sharing: The Moral Imperative […]

  3. […] my very first blog post (What Does It Take to Create a Movement?) I shared a video about sharing because sharing and collaboration help us all get better at what […]

Leave a Reply

